With our society becoming more and more dependent on the ease and comforts offered by modern technology, services such as Lyft and Uber have taken over the ridesharing market. Simply by opening an app it is possible to request a ride, pay for the ride, and rate your experience with that driver. It truly is a modern convenience and one that brings with it novel issues for those that are injured while utilizing this service. Fortunately for ridesharing accident victims in Texas, there is a personal injury attorney that is well-versed in the laws and regulations surrounding ridesharing accidents and will fight for her clients to receive the justice they deserve. Whether the victim is in need of a Texas Uber accident lawyer or a Texas Lyft accident attorney, the law firm of Annie McAdams, PC, is here to help.
Texas House Bill 100
On May 29, 2017, the Texas governor signed House Bill 100 into law. The purpose of this bill was to enact statewide rules for any rideshare company operating in Texas. Previously, there were different laws and regulations in different cities across the state, making it difficult for rideshare companies, otherwise known as Transportation Network Companies (TNCs), to remain in compliance.
Rideshare Driver Requirements
The bill has established that persons who wish to drive for TNCs obtain a state permit. The permit has many requirements, including the following:
- Driver must be a minimum of 18 years of age
- Driver must have and maintain an active driver’s license from any state or Washington, DC
- Driver must maintain and be able to provide proof of registration and insurance for all vehicles used in transporting passengers
- Driver must pass a thorough background check on federal, state, and local levels
The bill also requires that the driver:
- Must not have been convicted of a crime for the three years preceding the date of the driving record obtained in the background search
- Must not have had more than three moving violation offenses
- Must not be registered in the national sex offender public database
Rideshare Insurance Requirements
The bill establishes insurance requirements for drivers when they are actively involved in transporting someone and when they are between rides. While actively transporting passengers, drivers must have coverage with a total aggregate limit of 1 million dollars for death, bodily injury, and property damage for each incident. When between transports, the driver must also meet stringent requirements, including having the following coverage:
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person injured in an accident
- $100,000 in bodily injury liability per incident
- $25,000 in liability coverage for property damage per accident
Speak With An Experienced Rideshare Attorney At Annie McAdams, PC
Ridesharing accident victims in Texas need counsel they can hang their hat on, and at Annie McAdams, PC, they can do just that. Call 713-785-6262 or contact us via our contact page to schedule a consultation with a Texas Lyft accident attorney or a Texas Uber accident lawyer. We’ll meet with you and advise you on your options.